Harnett County,
North Carolina

Board of Commissioners 

Contact UsCalendar

Harnett Boards & Committees

Triangle South Workforce Development Board

To provide policy guidance and oversight with respect to activities of the Work Force Investment Act of 1998 (P>L> 105-220) for the Local Workforce Investment Area Consortium consisting of Chatham, Harnett, Lee, and Sampson Counties. Key focus is oversight of the JobLink Career Center System (one-stop system) that offers labor market information, provides access to career training and job placement services, and serves as the connection between the employers and qualified workers.
Total Seats
Total Alternates
Commissioner's District
Term Length
2 years
Meeting Time
6 p.m.
Meeting Schedule
2nd Thursday - Jan., Mar., May, July, Sept., Nov.
Meeting Place
County Administration Building - Lillington
Special Requirements
In June 1994 based on directive requirements for the appointment of members to the Private industry Council, a list of seven recommendations were compiled as provided by various County Chamber of Commerce organizations. The Harnett County Board of Commissioners reviewed the seven recommendations and recommended consideration of three to the Private Industry Council. Also, the Board appointed one person to represent United Way, Economic Development, and Education. The name of the council has been changed to Mid-Carolina Workforce Development Board. After passage of the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, the Governor "grandfathered" the existing Workforce Development Boards to serve as the designated Workforce Investment Boards under the WIA legislation, with the same membership requirements and a majority of private sector members. Six members are appointed from each of the four counties in the Mid-Carolina Local Workforce Investment Consortium, with Harnett County having slots for three private sector members and three public sector members: economic development, education agency, and community based organization. Meeting Schedule: 2nd Thursday - Jan., Mar., May, July, Sept., Nov. Meeting Place: County Administration Building - Lillington

Board Members

Term Expires
Carolyn Blue 
Kevin Bolyard 
Russell S Hieb 
James O. Roberts 
Angie Stewart 
Board of Commissioners
GIS Portal
Register of Deeds Search
Employee Information