| HCPL Home Page | Library Information |
Who May have a library card?
Anyone who can write his or her own name and
- lives in Harnett County, or
- lives in a contiguous county, or
- attends school in Harnett County, or
- owns property in the county, or
- works in the county.
We need to see some picture identification and something showing an applicants mailing address. A current driver's license is usually sufficient.
Any applicant under age 16 needs a parent or guardian to come in with him to grant parental permission at the time he gets the card.
- Books, records, audiotapes 3 weeks, -- one renewal
- Magazines, newspapers, -- 1 week, no renewal
- Videotapes -- 3 days, no renewals
- If an item has a hold on it, the circulation period -- 1 week, no renewals
- Reference materials do not circulate
- Books borrowed from any public library in Harnett County may be returned at any other library in the county. Each library has a bookdrop, permitting 24-hour return of materials.
- Any overdue charges may be paid on a subsequent visit.
One renewal is possible for 3-week items, except for books on reserve for another patron. Videos and periodicals may not be renewed. For items that are renewable, you may call any library or visit any library to renew your items. You may also renew items via the library catalog at www.harnett.org/library if they are not overdue.
- Lillington - 893-3446
- Anderson Creek - 814-4012
- Angier - 639-4413
- Coats - 230-1944
- Dunn - 892-2899
- Erwin - 897-5780
Placing Items on Hold
You may call any library anytime to ask that a book be held for you. If you are using the online catalog from home and you want to place a hold on a book that is NOT checked out, you will need to call the library to assure that the hold is valid.
Materials not owned by the HCPL System may often be borrowed from other libraries in North Carolina and the southeast. These items may be requested at the checkout desk, or ask the reference librarians to take your request. Films and videocassettes are borrowed for you from the State Library of North Carolina.
WHEN YOUR ITEM IS OVERDUE
- Fines begin on the 10th day after a three-week item is due; the fine is $1.00 and goes up $.10 each day afterwards.
- The fine for a three-day item is $.50 per day and begins the day after the item is due.
- The fine for one-week items is $.10 and begins the day after an item is due.
Notification that you have overdue items will be made 14 days after the grace period for books and 14 days after the due date for videos. If items are not returned, you will be billed for items borrowed and you will receive a letter from the County Attorney. Your borrowing privileges will be suspended after you receive a bill until your record has been cleared. Then, for a year, you will be a probationary patron, with limited borrowing privileges.
Maximum fines charged will be $10.00 for books and $20.00 for videos.
| Library Information | Community Information | Internet Resources
This page was updated February 25, 2004