|Q||Can anyone access the information contained in the office of the Register of Deeds?|
Yes. All information maintained in our office is public record, with the exception of military discharges.
|Q||When can I record real estate documents? Is there an e-recording cutoff time?|
Our office does not have a cutoff time to record, for walk-in customers. Please note, our office will need enough time to key in the document. If we cannot key the information before 5:00pm, it will have to be recorded the next business day. Due to the increase in the number of electronic recordings, there is an e-recording cutoff time of 4:45pm, that will be implemented beginning February 1st.
|Q||Can I electronically record all real estate documents?|
Yes. Our office accepts all document types through electronic recording. This includes all real estate documents and plats.
|Q||What are the hours of operation?|
Our office is open Monday - Friday from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Hours of operation for a Marriage License are 8:00 am - 4:30 pm.
|Q||How far back do Harnett County land records go?|
Harnett County was formed from Cumberland County in the year 1855. Our office has records dating back to this time; however, fires in 1892 and 1894 destroyed many of the early records.
|Q||How can I obtain a copy of a document?|
To obtain a copy of a document, you can come into the office, mail in a request or obtain it online.
For Real Estate documents, please use the following site. http://rod.harnett.org/ If you need a certified copy of a Real Estate document, please contact our office.
To order a certified birth, death or marriage license online, please visit https://harnettrod.permitium.com/rod
|Q||Does your office search titles? Liens or Judgements?|
No. North Carolina General Statutes strictly prohibits the staff of the Register of Deeds from performing title searches. The individual or a legal representative may perform the search.
|Q||How do I add/remove/change a name on a deed?|
Deed name changes require the submittal of a new deed to the Register of Deeds office. We suggest that you consult an attorney unless you are familiar with creating legal documents. The Register of Deeds cannot add or remove names from deeds.
|Q||What is the revenue or excise tax calculation on a deed?|
August 1, 1991 - current $1.00 per $500 or $2.00 per $1000
January 1, 1968 - July 31, 1991 $0.50 per $500
July 1, 1940 - December 31, 1967 $0.55 per $500 when exceeds $100
June 21, 1932 - June 30, 1940 $0.50 per $500 when exceeds $100
March 28, 1926 - June 20, 1932 None
December 1, 1917 - March 27, 1926 $0.50 per $500 when exceeds $100
September 9, 1916 - November 30, 1917 None
December 1, 1914 - September 8, 1916 $0.50 per $500 when exceeds $100
July 1, 1902 - November 30, 1914 None
July 1, 1901 - June 30, 1902 $0.25 for over $2,500 up to $3,000; $0.25 for every additional $500 greater than $3,000
July 1, 1898 - June 30, 1901 $0.50 for over $100 up to $500; $0.50 for every additional $500 greater than $500
|Q||Can the Register of Deeds Office locate a property by address?|
No, our records are indexed by name. You may contact the Harnett County GIS/Mapping department if you are looking for an owner by property address. (910) 893-7523 or http://gis.harnett.org/
|Q||Do I need to file a Healthcare Power of Attorney in your office?|
No. The North Carolina Secretary of State maintains an Advanced Healthcare Directive Directory. Please visit https://www.sosnc.gov/ahcdr/ for more information.
|Q||How do you search for a map online?|
Go to the search page on the Register of Deeds website. http://rod.harnett.org/
If you have a map book and page, enter those numbers in the corresponding fields on the search page.
If the map is a Plat Cabinet, enter PC#___ in the book field. The slide number will be entered in the page field with no space or dash between the number and the letter. Example: For Plat Cabinet C, Slide 123-B enter PC#C in the book field and 123B in the page field.
|Q||Where do I get a copy of a Will?|
Wills are filed in the Clerk of Court's Office. Please call (910) 814-4600
|Q||Where do I obtain a copy of my Separation Agreement and Divorce records?|
Divorce records are kept in the Clerk of Court's office. Please contact (910) 814-4600 or http://www.harnett.org/clerk/default.asp
If recorded, Separation Agreements can be found in the Register of Deed's office.
|Q||How do I register a business name?|
After searching records to ensure the name you wish to use is not being used, please complete the proper Assumed Name form and subimt to our office for recording. These forms can be found online at https://edpnc.com/start-or-grow-a-business/start-a-business/business-forms/
Fees to record an Assumed Name are $26.00.
|Q||How much do birth certificates cost?|
If the person was born in Harnett County, a certified copy is $10.00.
Our office can perform a statewide search if you were born from 1971 to present. The cost for a statewide search is $24.00. If you were born in another county prior to 1971, you will need to contact that county for your birth record.
|Q||How do I get a birth certificate for a person that was adopted?|
All birth records for adoptees are kept at North Carolina Vital Records. http://vitalrecords.nc.gov/
|Q||What do I need to obtain a Marriage License?|
Please click on the following link.
|Q||Where can a marriage license be used?|
Marriage licenses obtained from our office can be used anywhere in the State of North Carolina and only in the State of North Carolina. Licenses obtained from Harnett County must be returned to Harnett County.
The Harnett County Magistrate’s office will only perform ceremonies for Harnett County Residents until further notice.