Effective Wednesday, June 2 at 5pm
Effective at 5 p.m. Wednesday, June 2, the N.C. Forest Service and Harnett County Fire Marshal have lifted the ban on all open burning for Harnett County. The burn ban went into effect May 24 due to hazardous forest fire conditions in the area.
“Recent rainfall across central and eastern North Carolina has decreased fire danger,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “With more rain expected across the area through the weekend, we should see even more improvement. Still, residents should burn responsibly. Check for restrictions before burning, and make sure you have a valid permit. Check the weather, and never leave a debris fire unattended.”
As of 5 p.m., burn permits are available in Harnett County. You can obtain a burn permit from any open authorized permitting agent or online at www.ncforestservice.gov/burnpermit. All burn permits previously granted in Harnett County by this burn ban were canceled when the ban became effective. A valid permit must be obtained.
Residents with questions can contact the Harnett County Fire Marshal’s Division at 910-893-7580 or the N.C. Forest Service Office in Harnett County at 910-893-4391.
Date: May 24, 2021
Due to increased fire risk, the N.C. Forest Service and Harnett County Fire Marshal have issued a ban on all open burning and have canceled all burning permits for Harnett County.
The burning ban goes into effect at noon Monday, May 24, and will remain in effect until further notice.
“Our state is getting drier and hotter, and wildfires like those conditions,” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler. “These conditions coming during spring wildfire season when wildfire activity and fire risks are already elevated, make this burn ban necessary to protect life and property in North Carolina.”
Under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits all open burning, regardless of whether a permit was previously issued. The issuance of any new permits has also been suspended until the ban is lifted. Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $183 court costs. Any person responsible for setting a fire may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire.
Local fire departments and law enforcement officers are assisting the N.C. Forest Service in enforcing the burn ban.
The N.C. Forest Service will continue to monitor conditions. Residents with questions regarding this burn ban in Harnett County can contact the Harnett County Fire Marshal’s Division at 910-893-7580 or the N.C. Forest Service Office in Harnett County at 910-893-4391.