Harnett County,
North Carolina

Public Utilities 

Contact UsCalendar


Harnett County Public Utilities

A Regional County Owned Utility

The Harnett County Department of Public Utilities (HCDPU) is a regional water and wastewater utility that provides service to approximately 125,000 people in Harnett County and the surrounding Cape Fear region.

HCDPU through its Harnett County Regional Water Treatment Plant, located in the County seat of Lillington, has 42 million gallons per day of treatment capacity and supplies water to the municipalities of Lillington, Angier, Erwin and Coats in Harnett County, Fort Bragg, Linden and Spring Lake in Cumberland County, and Holly Springs and Fuquay-Varina in Wake County. Harnett County also supplies water to Johnston and Moore Counties. The Harnett County Regional Water Plant utilizes the Cape Fear River as the source for the system’s drinking water and was recognized in 2012 for maintaining the “Directors Award of Recognition’ from the Partnership of Safe Water, and is one of 165 water plants throughout the United States to receive this distinction and one of three in North Carolina. HCDPU’s system includes 9 separate County Water and Sewer Districts and totals over 1500 miles of water mains and has approximately 38,000 active connections within their boundaries. Approximately 98% of all Harnett County residents have access to public water. HCDPU currently has 2 active wastewater treatment plants with over 22 million gallons per day of treatment capacity that serve approximately 60,000 people in Harnett and Wake County as well as Fort Bragg.

Board of Commissioners
GIS Portal
Register of Deeds Search
Employee Information